You can hunt yourself with Google Maps Timeline 2020 update

You can hunt yourself with Google Maps Timeline 2020 update

This illustration shows the Google Maps app showing a medical facility or testing center for COVID-19 on a smartphone in Arlington, Virginia on June 9, 2020.

This illustration shows the Google Maps app showing a medical facility or testing center for COVID-19 on a smartphone in Arlington, Virginia on June 9, 2020.
Photo: Olivier Doleri / AFP (Getty Images)

It is no secret that Google, In addition to other major tech companies, I know a lot Around you. Maybe a lot more than you think. And while this is really scary in general, it can sometimes produce great results for a while, before going back to being scary. Case in point: You could start the year by chasing yourself with Google Maps.

As I spotted it 9to5Google, Google Maps is rolling out the “Timeline Update 2020”, which is an email that gives you a breakdown of places you’ve visited based on your location history. While this summary is also available monthly, the outlet notes, the 2020 update will show how your travel habits have looked throughout the past year.

Yes, 2020 was the year of the Coronavirus pandemic, which seriously affected travel and movement in general, and Google acknowledges that.

The email, at 9to5Google, reads, “COVID-19 changed the world travels in 2020, and how many places people can visit.” “If you are able to travel this year, you can see some of the places I visited with the help of this automated email ‘timeline’.

Although the pandemic has disrupted our travel lifestyles, it is still interesting to see where we have been able to go. According to 9to5Google, the update includes a map of cities and places you’ve traveled to, as well as a new section called “Directions”. This section tells you the types of places you have been to, such as where to go shopping or eat. Google Maps Timeline also lets you see how many miles you’ve traveled by walking and driving.

In order to use this feature, you must apparently turn on Site History in your Google account settings. (I don’t, which is why I foolishly searched for this feed for so long and got no results.) However, if you have other settings like web activity and apps running, Google may still save your location data when you use its sites, apps, and services, even if you pause Location History or delete your location data, according to The company the support Pages For this feature.

On its support page for the feature, Google says you can amend your timeline or delete the location history, along with its date ranges, at any time.

Thankfully, Google says your timeline isn’t available for everyone to see. It is private, and only you can see it on mobile and desktop.

All in all, it’s kinda cool, but it’s also kinda scary. It’s up to you to decide how a feature like this makes you feel. You might really love to see your data broken down this way. But if you don’t, you can always Turn it off.

[[[9to5Google]

READ  The disappointing Cold War Black Ops 4 Scorestreak is back two years later
More from Isabella Marta

Deixe uma resposta

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *